On the 1st July 2018, Hatful of Rain will release their third album entitled ‘Songs of the Lost and Found’. The album’s contents are entirely original and utilising the familiar palette of voices, fiddle, mandolin, guitar and bass alongside a cast of additional musicians. The music is entirely of its time, responding to the modern world’s experiences of loss, redemption, migration, identity and austerity. 

Hatful of Rain are a British folk group using a mix of British and American styles. In their live performance they combine powerful songwriting with musical flare, using a single microphone approach to create an intimate and engaging atmosphere.

The band formed in 2011, quickly signing to the Folk/Americana label Union Music Store for their first album ‘Way Up on the Hill’, which led to a session on the prestigious BBC Radio 2 Bob Harris Saturday show. A second album ‘The Morning Key’ followed in 2014 was warmly received by the roots music world with the Hatfuls nominated to perform at the Americana Music Awards in Nashville and as Best Group in the Spiral Earth Awards.

In 2016 the band released a CD of traditional UK and US songs on their own label, Long Way Home Music, in an exploration of what had influenced them in their earlier musical careers.

Press contacts can hear and download a copy of the album here. Please note that you will have to be signed into soundcloud to download the tracks

The release of ‘Songs of the Lost and Found’ will be supported by shows around the country.

9th  June          Hull Minster, Hull, Yorks

10th June         Victoria Hall, Settle, Yorks

22nd June        Lighthouse Studios, Poole, Dorset

23rd June         Brecon Cathedral, Brecon, Powys

24th June         Twick Folk, Twickenham, Middlesex

30th June         Slaughtered Lamb, London

13th July          The Old Market, Hove, Brighton and Hove

14th July          Titchfield Parish Room, Titchfield, Hampshire

15th July          Square and Compass, Worth Matravers, Dorset



Welcome to the "Songs of the Lost and Found" Press Page

  • Start Again4:48
  • Where There's Life4:11
  • Sinking Like A Stone4:16
  • Ponderosa Pines3:13
  • I Thought You Would Live3:07
  • Gathering Wood4:44
  • But For You5:33
  • Won't Be Druv2:57
  • Oh The Night!3:45
  • Down In The Town4:41
  • Devil's Dyke4:48
  • Collared Dove2:09